Tycoon Talk
Become a Big fish!
The number 1 forum for online business!
Post topics, ask questions, share your knowledge.
Tycoon Talk is part of Freelancer.com - find skilled workers online at a fraction of the cost.

Buy and Sell Advertising Space


You are currently viewing our Buy and Sell Advertising Space as a guest. Please register to participate.
Login



 
Entertainment Site With 3.4 Million Backlinks Selling Text Links
Old 04-25-2005, 02:50 AM Entertainment Site With 3.4 Million Backlinks Selling Text Links
FreeVideoCodes's Avatar
Skilled Talker

Posts: 59
Trades: 0
Hello,

I am selling a text link on GetVideoCodes.com. I can not disclose the Google PageRank on this forum however I HIGHLY recommend you check it out yourself Let's just say, it's very high.

Anyways, our site has 3,480,000 backlinks according to Google. PM if intrested with bid price (selling links per month only)

Regards,
__________________

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
FreeVideoCodes is offline
View Public Profile
 
 
Register now for full access!
Old 04-25-2005, 03:10 AM
wazoo's Avatar
Novice Talker

Posts: 10
Trades: 0
i'm not sure you're aware of it but i don't think the backlinks are correct

http://www.google.com/search?q=link%...en-GB:official

it says both google and macromedia are linking to you, but i can't find a link to you on either of those pages listed?

infcat i can't find your link on any of those pages listed?

and somehow yahoo and msn don't have you in the index at all!
http://search.yahoo.com/search?p=Get...b-t&fl=0&x=wrt
http://search.msn.com/results.aspx?F...videocodes.com

i'm sorry, i'm not trying to interfere with your sales but there's something not right here! intentional or not, as i said you may not have a clue what's going on either.
wazoo is offline
View Public Profile
 
Old 04-25-2005, 03:15 AM
zman's Avatar
Ultra Talker

Posts: 479
Trades: 4
He is using a re-direct.


This is a scam and I hope a mod or admin catches it and closes this topic.
__________________

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
| Follow me on
Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
zman is offline
View Public Profile Visit zman's homepage!
 
Old 04-25-2005, 03:44 AM
wazoo's Avatar
Novice Talker

Posts: 10
Trades: 0
and submits his site to google via a spam report
wazoo is offline
View Public Profile
 
Old 04-25-2005, 04:15 AM
Padawan's Avatar
Ultra Talker

Posts: 479
Location: London
Trades: 0
He's also trying to sell the site off as a PR10

http://www.webmaster-talk.com/showth...120#post143120

as if
__________________

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
|
Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
|
Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
|
Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
Padawan is offline
View Public Profile Visit Padawan's homepage!
 
Old 04-25-2005, 08:20 AM yes not any one with a half of a brain would not pick this scam up
Boston_JM's Avatar
Webmaster Talker

Posts: 507
Trades: 0
yes not any one with a half of a brain would not pick this scam up i mean for real wake up we are not born yesterday
__________________

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
Boston_JM is offline
View Public Profile
 
Old 04-25-2005, 01:54 PM
Xxxxxpp's Avatar
Skilled Talker

Posts: 83
Location: Belgium
Trades: 0
quick question: how can you see he is using a re-direct? And how does this trick work?It just sounds very weird that google can be tricked into giving a pr-10 so easy. And last: is this only with pr-10 this way? or do I have to watch out too when I'm looking for lower pr sites?
__________________
::
Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
::
Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
::
Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
::
Xxxxxpp is offline
View Public Profile
 
Old 04-26-2005, 04:07 AM
Skilled Talker

Posts: 55
Trades: 0
Well the thing that turned me away is when I checked his stats on Alexa.com his site is not even listed... =/
__________________

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
xFrozenxSoulsx is offline
View Public Profile
 
Old 04-26-2005, 04:50 AM
Mattd's Avatar
Skilled Talker

Posts: 61
Location: South Wales, UK
Trades: 0
To answer your question Xxxxxpp, he is using a redirect trick as described on the PR hacking thread on this forum:

http://www.webmaster-talk.com/showthread.php?t=21979

Basically he uses a redirect to trick a googlebot into thinking that the backlinks to another site are his.
He has also tried to sell this domain but the moderator TPWinky closed the thread. In theory you can claim any sites backlinks are your own by using this but obviously most people opt for a PR 10
__________________

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
Mattd is offline
View Public Profile Visit Mattd's homepage!
 
Old 04-26-2005, 05:09 AM
Mattd's Avatar
Skilled Talker

Posts: 61
Location: South Wales, UK
Trades: 0
To answer your question Xxxxxpp, he is using a redirect trick as described on the PR hacking thread on this forum:

http://www.webmaster-talk.com/showthread.php?t=21979

Basically he uses a redirect to fool a googlebot into thinking that the backlinks to another site are his and therefore gian its PR.

If you type "link:www.google.com" into google to come up with all the backlinks, what a surprise you get 3,480,000 links, the exact same number that he claims to have.

(He has also tried to sell this domain but the moderator TPWinky closed the thread.)

In theory you can claim any sites backlinks are your own by using this but obviously most people opt for a PR 10 ranked site.

As discussed on the PR hack thread above, the trick only works on toolbar PR and I do not think that you get search engine advantage of that high PR. Even if you do Google discovers this trick after another update and corrects it (probably penalising the site in the process.)

MattD
__________________

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
Mattd is offline
View Public Profile Visit Mattd's homepage!
 
Old 04-26-2005, 10:56 AM
Xxxxxpp's Avatar
Skilled Talker

Posts: 83
Location: Belgium
Trades: 0
Thanks, Mattd, now I know at least what to look out for.
__________________
::
Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
::
Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
::
Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
::
Xxxxxpp is offline
View Public Profile
 
   

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





   
RSS Feed  Feeds: RSS   JS   XML
RSS Feed  Feeds for this forum: RSS   JS   XML



Page generated in 0.42095 seconds with 12 queries