Tycoon Talk
Become a Big fish!
The number 1 forum for online business!
Post topics, ask questions, share your knowledge.
Tycoon Talk is part of Freelancer.com - find skilled workers online at a fraction of the cost.

Computer Forum


You are currently viewing our Computer Forum as a guest. Please register to participate.
Login



Reply
Old 08-10-2009, 02:57 PM SMTP Settings
pealo86's Avatar
Super Spam Talker

Posts: 849
Name: Matt Pealing
Location: England, north west
Trades: 0
You may have seen my post several weeks ago about how any emails I send from two of my email addresses (provided by my hosting account) go straight into the junk folder for any Hotmail recipients.

Now things have got even worse and my emails are getting rejected altogether by Hotmail. The support staff for my hosting have advised me that I need to get hold of the SMTP settings of my ISP (Virgin Media, UK) in order to fix it.

I don't understand how this could fix it though? My emails get rejected even when I use webmail through cPanel? So how would changing my SMTP settings in Thunderbird fix everything? Or do I need to add the SMTP settings somewhere else?

Also, I've tried googling for 'Virgin Media SMTP' but all I can find is help articles on actual Virgin Media email addresses!

If it helps, here is the rejection message I keep getting:

Quote:
This message was created automatically by mail delivery software.

A message that you sent could not be delivered to one or more of its
recipients. This is a permanent error. The following address(es) failed:

hi_im_maff@hotmail.com
SMTP error from remote mail server after MAIL FROM:<contact@freshbeat.co.uk> SIZE=1616:
host mx3.hotmail.com [65.55.92.152]: 550 SC-001 Mail rejected by Windows Live Hotmail for policy reasons. Reasons for rejection may be related to content with spam-like characteristics or IP/domain reputation problems. If you are not an email/network admin please contact your E-mail/Internet Service Provider for help. Email/network admins, please visit http://postmaster.live.com for email delivery information and support

------ This is a copy of the message, including all the headers. ------

Return-path: <contact@freshbeat.co.uk>
Received: from localhost ([127.0.0.1] helo=abe.enixns.com)
by abe.enixns.com with esmtpa (Exim 4.69)
(envelope-from <contact@freshbeat.co.uk>)
id 1MaGAo-0004PF-4x
for hi_im_maff@hotmail.com; Sun, 09 Aug 2009 22:43:26 +0100
MIME-Version: 1.0
Date: Sun, 09 Aug 2009 22:43:26 +0100
From: <contact@freshbeat.co.uk>
To: hi_im_maff@hotmail.com
Subject: test
Message-ID: <3346bcd327811469d17ed2a03e5a1176@mattpealingdesig n.co.uk>
X-Sender: contact@freshbeat.co.uk
User-Agent: RoundCube Webmail/0.2
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 8bit
Content-Type: text/plain; charset="UTF-8"

hello
__________________

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE


Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE


Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
pealo86 is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit pealo86's homepage!
 
 
Register now for full access!
Old 08-10-2009, 03:15 PM Re: SMTP Settings
chrishirst's Avatar
Missing! presumed drunk.

Posts: 41,515
Name: Chris Hirst
Location: Blackpool. UK
Trades: 0
just go to the horses mouth.

http://www.virginmedia.com/help/emai...express6-2.php
__________________
Chris. ->> Links are advertising NOT optimising!! <<-
A foolish consistency is the hobgoblin of little minds
Thought for today:- I SEO the only industry where all the cowboys are Indians?
chrishirst is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit chrishirst's homepage!
 
Old 08-10-2009, 03:25 PM Re: SMTP Settings
pealo86's Avatar
Super Spam Talker

Posts: 849
Name: Matt Pealing
Location: England, north west
Trades: 0
Thanks,
It's just hit me though, it will show up as an email from another address? i.e. Virgin? I don't actually have my own Virgin address, I use Gmail for my personal emails.

Does this mean that I'd have to use my Gmail address to send my business emails? Well, for Hotmail anyway, I think everything else is okay.

I've been tinkering about on Gmail by sending email from my business email address through Gmail itself. This seems great except for one thing...

Quote:
From: pealo86@googlemail.com on behalf of Matt Pealing (contact@freshbeat.co.uk)
?????

I don't see the point in even using it if it's going to put that in the header. I don't suppose you know of a way to alter it?? Or does Gmail not let you?
__________________

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE


Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE


Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
pealo86 is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit pealo86's homepage!
 
Old 08-10-2009, 03:36 PM Re: SMTP Settings
pealo86's Avatar
Super Spam Talker

Posts: 849
Name: Matt Pealing
Location: England, north west
Trades: 0
Hmmm also, I've even added my business email into my hotmail contacts and my emails are still bouncing back. Not only that, but if I send an email to myself from my hotmail address, I receive the email. But then when I try to reply back to my Hotmail... it bounces back!

arrrghhhhh!

Could it be worth just switching to a different hosting company?
__________________

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE


Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE


Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
pealo86 is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit pealo86's homepage!
 
Old 08-10-2009, 05:33 PM Re: SMTP Settings
alex021's Avatar
Super Talker

Posts: 118
Name: Alex
Trades: 0
Hi, If iam understanding you correctly tou trying to send an email from your hosting account to hotmail. If you have a shared hosting account what may happen is that someone on the same server may have been involved into spmming activity or the server has been compromised and been sending out spam this will result in the ipaddress/domains on that server being black listed. You may want to check to see if your domain/ip is on blacklist I think you can check it here http://www.myiptest.com/staticpages/...d-domain-URIBL or just google "how to check if my domain on a black list"
__________________

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE


Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
---
Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
---
Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
alex021 is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
Old 08-10-2009, 05:35 PM Re: SMTP Settings
pealo86's Avatar
Super Spam Talker

Posts: 849
Name: Matt Pealing
Location: England, north west
Trades: 0
Thanks! I've just had a look and everything seemed to check out okay... could it be that Hotmails blacklist isn't shown on that site?
__________________

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE


Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE


Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
pealo86 is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit pealo86's homepage!
 
Old 08-10-2009, 07:25 PM Re: SMTP Settings
chrishirst's Avatar
Missing! presumed drunk.

Posts: 41,515
Name: Chris Hirst
Location: Blackpool. UK
Trades: 0
Hotmail rely on their own methods of "spam detection" and don't use public blackhole lists.

Make sure the server you route mail through has reverse DNS.
__________________
Chris. ->> Links are advertising NOT optimising!! <<-
A foolish consistency is the hobgoblin of little minds
Thought for today:- I SEO the only industry where all the cowboys are Indians?
chrishirst is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit chrishirst's homepage!
 
Reply     « Reply to SMTP Settings
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





   
RSS Feed  Feeds: RSS   JS   XML
RSS Feed  Feeds for this forum: RSS   JS   XML



Page generated in 0.25779 seconds with 12 queries