Tycoon Talk
Become a Big fish!
The number 1 forum for online business!
Post topics, ask questions, share your knowledge.
Tycoon Talk is part of Freelancer.com - find skilled workers online at a fraction of the cost.

General Discussions


You are currently viewing our General Discussions as a guest. Please register to participate.
Login



Reply
Who is Idetrorce the Spammer?
Old 12-29-2007, 04:32 PM Who is Idetrorce the Spammer?
ForrestCroce's Avatar
Half Man, Half Amazing

Posts: 3,023
Name: Forrest Croce
Location: Seattle, WA
Trades: 0
I'm asking this here instead of in the blog forum because I'm hoping more people will share their thoughts.

A month ago, I posted a photo with some basic info about how I shot it, and got this comment:

Quote:
Idetrorce | idetrorce@mymail-in.net | IP: 88.216.54.227

very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
Idetrorce
I just recently got an identical comment, except from 58.85.201.126, on a post on my software development blog about using html to syntax highlight exception/error messages. One IP resolves to RIPE Network Coordination Centre in Amsterdam, while the other shows as Asia Pacific Network Information Centre in Milton, Australia.

The comments don't include links. And both of them are on posts that don't have much to agree or disagree with.

My best guess is someone has a bot running through proxies, leaving comments ... to build a list of blogs that just publish any comments they get? Or to get past moderation for first time commenters? For a future attack...? Google shows 27,500 matches for the comment text in quotes. Another blogger guessed:
Quote:
“very interesting, but I don’t agree with you.” That’s a comment I received on one of my posts from someone who may or may not be a person in the usual organic sense. I thought it was funny. there’s no link or anything to indicate spam. I did a search for the phrase and discovered that the person/non-person who left the comment, Idetrorce, has been leaving this comment on many blogs. I like to think Idetrorce is on a mission to keep the possibility of polite disagreement alive.
__________________

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
|
Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
|
Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
ForrestCroce is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit ForrestCroce's homepage!
 
 
Register now for full access!
Old 12-29-2007, 06:51 PM Re: Who is Idetrorce the Spammer?
ADAM Web Design's Avatar
Canadastaninianite

Posts: 5,935
Name: Adam for web page design, not program
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Trades: 0
Wow...a blog spammer that hasn't hit my blog yet. That may be a first.

Not sure what that's all about, dude. But I have seen similar behavior where users without websites post obvious spam comments. I just delete them and let it go.
__________________

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
|
Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
(my blog)


Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
(with proof)
ADAM Web Design is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit ADAM Web Design's homepage!
 
Old 12-29-2007, 06:59 PM Re: Who is Idetrorce the Spammer?
Banned

Posts: 2,898
Location: Canada
Trades: 0
I noticed identical **** used to test mailforms.
I think you are right about bots testing the grounds.
Hey, spammers get desperate and are trying new ways to spam.




fastreplies
fastreplies is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
Old 12-30-2007, 02:21 PM Re: Who is Idetrorce the Spammer?
ForrestCroce's Avatar
Half Man, Half Amazing

Posts: 3,023
Name: Forrest Croce
Location: Seattle, WA
Trades: 0
This is bizarre. I marked the comment as spam in Akismet, twice, so it should already be harder for the bot to penetrate other sites. I'm not sure how its spam filter works, whether it takes note of the IP address, the message itself, unusual words in it, or what ... but it would make sense to drop all your links on round one before people catch on.

When I Google for Idetrorce instead of the comment he left, there are more than half a million results. The top is a pretty interesting Digg thread.
Quote:
My best guess is that its some kind of proof of concept spam program (maybe to entice a buyer), test of a program or benchmarking (see how many google hits appear). Otherwise maybe he just forgot to include the link and its getting past the spam filters because of it (when other spam is just nuked)
Idetrorce.com doesn't even resolve!
__________________

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
|
Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
|
Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
ForrestCroce is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit ForrestCroce's homepage!
 
Reply     « Reply to Who is Idetrorce the Spammer?
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





   
RSS Feed  Feeds: RSS   JS   XML
RSS Feed  Feeds for this forum: RSS   JS   XML



Page generated in 0.37810 seconds with 12 queries