Tycoon Talk
Become a Big fish!
The number 1 forum for online business!
Post topics, ask questions, share your knowledge.
Tycoon Talk is part of Freelancer.com - find skilled workers online at a fraction of the cost.

General Discussions


You are currently viewing our General Discussions as a guest. Please register to participate.
Login



Reply
Download.com - is it legit?
Old 02-12-2008, 04:21 PM Download.com - is it legit?
Spud In Disguise's Avatar
Super Spam Talker

Posts: 808
Location: UK... where else?
Trades: 0
ok, my question is a bit broad, but basically I, like many of you I expect, enjoy the occassional truip to the music section on download.com to find some new material!

I recently started up a blog and would like to link to some of the music downloads available through the site.

However, I have always tried my hardest to keep to strictly legal downloads and pay for my music - unless the artist themselves have allowed the music to be downloaded.

My question therefore is, can I link to any downloads on the site safe in the knowledge that it has been approved by the artists?

I have uploaded some of my own material in the past and know they run a tight ship, but is it all legal?

Thanks for any info on the subject...
Spud In Disguise is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit Spud In Disguise's homepage!
 
 
Register now for full access!
Old 02-12-2008, 04:36 PM Re: Download.com - is it legit?
Learning Newbie's Avatar
Defies a Status

Latest Blog Post:
Astounding Republican Paranoia
Posts: 5,662
Name: John Alexander
Trades: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spud In Disguise View Post
However, I have always tried my hardest to keep to strictly legal downloads and pay for my music - unless the artist themselves have allowed the music to be downloaded.
That's legal. It doesn't matter what you pay, so long as you have permission. It's been that you have to buy that permission - it's coupled to your payment - but that isn't set in stone. Look at Radiohead.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spud In Disguise View Post
My question therefore is, can I link to any downloads on the site safe in the knowledge that it has been approved by the artists?
Under law, I think so. You aren't hosting the music (if it's illegal) you're only pointing to something that's available online. That's how a lot of companies get out of lawsuits.

Further, download.com is assumably a reputable site. You said yourself you've uploaded things in the past and they run a tight ship. At some level, and I think making a hyperlink is below this level, you can defer to them. You don't have to investigate the history of every digital bit on the internet before typing <a href="download.com">click here</a>. If you were pointing people to a CD on a bit torrent it would be different, but you seem to believe in good faith that anything that makes it to the public side of download.com is legit. And I think that's a fair assumption to make.

If a person asked me where he could get $20 and I said there was a bank around the corner, if he robbed that bank it wouldn't be my fault. I thought he meant to withdraw it. If you recommend a song on download.com knowing they don't publish just anything, I think it's the same.
__________________

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE


Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
Learning Newbie is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
Old 02-12-2008, 05:17 PM Re: Download.com - is it legit?
serandfae's Avatar
Do the "Evil Nanner" !!!

Posts: 9,007
Name: Tim Daily
Location: Apex, NC, US, Sol 3
Trades: 0
I trust you are talking about the free music downloads section of www.download.com, owned by c|net? They are one of the most reputable sites out there, IMHO. Matter of fact, they are one of the few sites I'd consider linking to based solely upon that reputation.
__________________
SEO "experts" smell like Big Fish_|_
Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE


Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE

serandfae is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit serandfae's homepage!
 
Old 02-12-2008, 08:42 PM Re: Download.com - is it legit?
KML9870's Avatar
One Bad Mamma :-)

Posts: 5,489
Name: Kandi
Location: Western NY
Trades: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by serandfae View Post
I trust you are talking about the free music downloads section of www.download.com, owned by c|net? They are one of the most reputable sites out there, IMHO. Matter of fact, they are one of the few sites I'd consider linking to based solely upon that reputation.
I agree. I have trusted download.com for a long time, never had a single problem. I've linked to the site many times, recommended the site many times.
__________________
~~Kandi~~

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE


KML9870 is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
Old 02-13-2008, 06:01 PM Re: Download.com - is it legit?
Spud In Disguise's Avatar
Super Spam Talker

Posts: 808
Location: UK... where else?
Trades: 0
Thanks guys! That's just what I thought

I can link with confidence now!

Thanks very much!
Spud In Disguise is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit Spud In Disguise's homepage!
 
Reply     « Reply to Download.com - is it legit?
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





   
RSS Feed  Feeds: RSS   JS   XML
RSS Feed  Feeds for this forum: RSS   JS   XML



Page generated in 0.32453 seconds with 12 queries