Tycoon Talk
Become a Big fish!
The number 1 forum for online business!
Post topics, ask questions, share your knowledge.
Tycoon Talk is part of Freelancer.com - find skilled workers online at a fraction of the cost.

General Discussions


You are currently viewing our General Discussions as a guest. Please register to participate.
Login



Reply
Beware of Maxmind.com
Old 02-22-2007, 05:21 PM Beware of Maxmind.com
Yak Yak Yak Yak Yak

Posts: 593
Location: Rochester, MN
Trades: 0
I used Maxmind.com's city ip address service. It worked great for over a year. This morning, when I received their email notifying me that my queries were low, I paid for another 50,000 queries.

Suddenly an IP address in Argentina queried their database 50,000 times in a few hours. Their logs show the queries coming from my server, but spry.com checked the server logs, and that IP address hasn't visited my site.

I have the script setup to only submit the query if the user agent is firefox, IE, or Mozilla.

If there had been 50,000 hits in one day, you would think my server logs would show it. Wouldn't there be a spike? Consider, my whole site generates about 50,000 visitors per month. The script querying their database is only on the main page.

Has anyone else had something like this happen? I think I have been screwed by a shady operation.
__________________

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
neorunner is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
 
Register now for full access!
Old 02-23-2007, 05:30 PM Re: Beware of Maxmind.com
Yak Yak Yak Yak Yak

Posts: 593
Location: Rochester, MN
Trades: 0
They aren't going to make it right. I am submitting all the evidence to the Massachusetts Attorney Generals office. Other than that, I am charging this back, and washing my hands of this shady operation. I hope they fully investigate and put this company out of business.
__________________

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
neorunner is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
Old 03-09-2007, 01:31 PM Re: Beware of Maxmind.com
Yak Yak Yak Yak Yak

Posts: 593
Location: Rochester, MN
Trades: 0
Update:

I received a letter from the Mass Attorney General requesting my server logs, and the server logs maxmind sent me. They also requested copies of all correspondence, and the tech support contact for my hosting company.

I will send out the information today. I will keep this post updated as events unfold.
__________________

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
neorunner is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
Old 03-09-2007, 01:41 PM Re: Beware of Maxmind.com
Republikin's Avatar
Defies a Status

Posts: 3,189
Trades: 3
In the mean time, why not use a free GeoIP database like the one at http://software77.net/cgi-bin/ip-country/geo-ip.pl
__________________

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE


Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE


Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
Republikin is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
Reply     « Reply to Beware of Maxmind.com
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





   
RSS Feed  Feeds: RSS   JS   XML
RSS Feed  Feeds for this forum: RSS   JS   XML



Page generated in 1.46743 seconds with 12 queries