Tycoon Talk
Become a Big fish!
The number 1 forum for online business!
Post topics, ask questions, share your knowledge.
Tycoon Talk is part of Freelancer.com - find skilled workers online at a fraction of the cost.

General Discussions


You are currently viewing our General Discussions as a guest. Please register to participate.
Login



Reply
afghandesigns.com - thieves
Old 04-10-2007, 12:47 AM afghandesigns.com - thieves
Extreme Talker

Posts: 228
Name: Alex
Trades: 0
Here's yet another web theft report - the owner(s) of afghandesigns.com website has stolen images and content of our website (www.qesign.com).

For example, the text content and images of afghandesigns.com/services.php are stolen from www.qesign.com/service and corresponding inner pages. They don't even remove word "MAGIA" from the text (see the bottom of the mentioned page - "Fortunately, almost everything is possible, when you deal with MAGIA!").

Please let your friends know about these thieves.
__________________
MAGIA Internet Studio, qesign.com. Since 1996.

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
magia is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
 
Register now for full access!
Old 04-10-2007, 05:18 AM Re: afghandesigns.com - thieves
ultra's Avatar
Webmaster Talker

Posts: 636
Name: jasdeep
Location: World Citizen
Trades: 0
isnt their any law yet to deal with such websites ???? if no then we need one ....
ultra is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
Old 04-10-2007, 05:31 AM Re: afghandesigns.com - thieves
BruceWayne's Avatar
Extreme Talker

Posts: 182
Trades: 0
Can't see any similarities now.
BruceWayne is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit BruceWayne's homepage!
 
Old 04-10-2007, 05:29 PM Re: afghandesigns.com - thieves
Extreme Talker

Posts: 228
Name: Alex
Trades: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by BruceWayne View Post
Can't see any similarities now.
???

The text of afghandesigns.com/services.php is copy-pasted from www.qesign.com/service/website-design.shtml, http://www.qesign.com/service/advert...s-design.shtml, http://www.qesign.com/service/websit...e-design.shtml and other pages of the "Services" section of www.qesign.com. As well as the icons.
__________________
MAGIA Internet Studio, qesign.com. Since 1996.

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE

Last edited by magia; 04-10-2007 at 05:59 PM..
magia is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
Old 04-10-2007, 06:07 PM Re: afghandesigns.com - thieves
Extreme Talker

Posts: 228
Name: Alex
Trades: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by ultra View Post
isnt their any law yet to deal with such websites ???? if no then we need one ....
Well, first of all, it violates the TOS of their hosting provider (hosting of illegal content). It's enough to immediately close their account/website (if their hosting provider is legal, of course).
__________________
MAGIA Internet Studio, qesign.com. Since 1996.

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
magia is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
Old 04-11-2007, 03:30 PM Re: afghandesigns.com - thieves
LadynRed's Avatar
Defies a Status

Posts: 10,017
Location: Tennessee
Trades: 0
So, report them to the hosting company -- and their ISP - not that that will do much good in a foreign country.
__________________
Web Goddess & Web Standards Evangelist :) - Tables Be Gone !!

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE


Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE

LadynRed is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
Old 04-11-2007, 04:02 PM Re: afghandesigns.com - thieves
Extreme Talker

Posts: 228
Name: Alex
Trades: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by LadynRed View Post
So, report them to the hosting company -- and their ISP - not that that will do much good in a foreign country.
We did. But it seems their hosting provider (digitalcityhosting.com) does not observe their own terms of service + their abuse email does not work (encouragement of illegal activity?). We'll contact their server provider.
__________________
MAGIA Internet Studio, qesign.com. Since 1996.

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
magia is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
Old 04-11-2007, 07:39 PM Re: afghandesigns.com - thieves
ADAM Web Design's Avatar
Canadastaninianite

Posts: 5,935
Name: Adam for web page design, not program
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Trades: 0
magia, there's another option: if they're stealing copy, they may be automating it.

Try detecting their bot by changing content and seeing if it appears and who hit the page. If you suspect the bot is one of their IPs, deliver the bot some alternate content. You know, like "WE STEAL OUR IMAGES FROM THE VERY BEST!"

Of course, that's if you wanted to be a jerk with a cause.
__________________

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
|
Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
(my blog)


Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
(with proof)
ADAM Web Design is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit ADAM Web Design's homepage!
 
Old 04-11-2007, 08:07 PM Re: afghandesigns.com - thieves
tripy's Avatar
Do not try this at home!

Posts: 3,621
Name: Thierry
Location: I'm the uber Spaminator !
Trades: 0
Quote:
their abuse email does not work
I suffered from a domain hijacking last year.
My registrar disaperead without leaving infos, and no more server for the dns/whois infos.
And many domains with good names where re-associated with French politician fake account (funny, heh ?)
One of my domains was in the lot, and in custody of Enom, as the top registrar.
I turned to them, as my old registrar was not reachable.

After 5 polite email on a 3 week time span with no replies, I've sent a 2 line mail to their legal service telling that from now, I won't be handling this, but my lawyer would (although I didn't had any).
I've got my domain back after 20 minutes.

So, don't rely on anything that is told on a hosting firm web site.
You want something done, and there is a legal infringement, so scare them.
Either they act, or they are held co-responsible.

We live in a sad sad world...
__________________
Only a biker knows why a dog sticks his head out the window.
tripy is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit tripy's homepage!
 
Reply     « Reply to afghandesigns.com - thieves
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





   
RSS Feed  Feeds: RSS   JS   XML
RSS Feed  Feeds for this forum: RSS   JS   XML



Page generated in 3.57405 seconds with 12 queries