|
 |
|
|
07-21-2007, 09:52 PM
|
Is this illegal?
|
Posts: 38
|
I plan to open a forum and my domain has a manufactures name in it....because my forum is strictly for that brand.
So if I open this site up to the public can the manufacture sue me or anything?
Here is a example:
Lets just say I opened a forum using this domain "Fordnetwork.com" (example)
The forum will have discussions about each of the Ford vehicle models.
Can Ford sue me or anything?
Thanks & remember that is only a example.
Last edited by Jason; 07-21-2007 at 10:52 PM..
|
|
|
|
07-22-2007, 12:25 AM
|
Re: Is this illegal?
|
Posts: 10,815
Name: Steven Bradley
Location: Boulder, Colorado
|
I think it would depend on the specific domain and the company as far as how they would react. I don't think you;d have a problem with the example you give. You might though if were using something like
gooogle.com or fords.com
If you get too close to the actual company domain I would imagine they wouldn't care for it that much, but again it would probably depend a little on the company involved and the specific domain.
I think as long as you're not trying to pass the site off as being an official company site you're ok. Also keep in mind I'm not a lawyer.
|
|
|
|
07-22-2007, 12:57 AM
|
Re: Is this illegal?
|
Posts: 3,023
Name: Forrest Croce
Location: Seattle, WA
|
I'm not a lawyer myself, and don't play one on TV. I think if you're not creating confusion in the market place or acting in bad faith you're OK.
And I think most companies would welcome mostly good press. I know a particular site about digital cameras is watched by manufacturers, for both positive and negative feedback. Some of the complaints are taken care of. These companies are getting some free marketing research. On the other hand, the domain isn't connected to any of the companies, they just each have their own forum.
|
|
|
|
07-22-2007, 02:56 PM
|
Re: Is this illegal?
|
Posts: 10,815
Name: Steven Bradley
Location: Boulder, Colorado
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by ForrestCroce
I think if you're not creating confusion in the market place or acting in bad faith you're OK.
|
Forrest I think you nailed it with this sentence. I would think that's really the key, though I'll still say there's an 'it depends' factor.
And I too don't play a lawyer on TV or on any other media.
|
|
|
|
07-22-2007, 03:00 PM
|
Re: Is this illegal?
|
Posts: 2,111
Name: Matt. (>',')>
Location: London, England.
|
I would agree with forrest and steve.
The way i look at it is if i have a domain burgerkinglocations.com and use it to host a site showing the various locations of burger king restaurants it would be ok. If i have a domain burgerkingburgers.com and use it to sell burgers i may get in to trouble.
|
|
|
|
07-22-2007, 04:04 PM
|
Re: Is this illegal?
|
Posts: 3,023
Name: Forrest Croce
Location: Seattle, WA
|
The thing is, a good friend of mine, actually my cat's Godmother, is waiting to take bar exam. I've asked her similar questions, about naming software products I write, and the entire law here is much less to do with protecting the rights of Ford to their trade name than protecting consumers from, say, buying a brand-X car with no label and thinking it's a ford because they got it from "Fred's Ford Store." Cars really aren't a good example here, because they're recognizable and have VIN numbers and all, but from what Trish says, this is the direction the law addresses the question from.
The part about acting in bad faith is something I've noticed as a pretty common thread.
And of course this isn't actual legal advice, so you can't sue me if I'm wrong. All the standard disclaimers apply. But that said, I think this is about as accurate as you'll find without paying for a consultation with a business lawyer.
|
|
|
|
07-22-2007, 09:17 PM
|
Re: Is this illegal?
|
Posts: 25
Name: Michael Saffold
|
If it's trademarked, they can take legal action.
|
|
|
|
07-23-2007, 12:46 AM
|
Re: Is this illegal?
|
Posts: 10,815
Name: Steven Bradley
Location: Boulder, Colorado
|
That's interesting Forrest about it being more about protecting consumers than it is about protecting the company in question. One question I might ask then is why it's the company that would likely start the legal action. I would think that some kind of protection would also exist for the company if someone else was doing something to potentially hurt their brand. Maybe that's not a legal issue though.
I can see how acting in bad faith would be a concern in all these kind of cases.
|
|
|
|
07-24-2007, 11:37 PM
|
Re: Is this illegal?
|
Posts: 38
|
Sorry guys I have being busy latly.
The domain is YamahaHQ.com
You think I can use this domain if I make clear we are not Yamaha?
|
|
|
|
07-25-2007, 12:23 AM
|
Re: Is this illegal?
|
Posts: 10,815
Name: Steven Bradley
Location: Boulder, Colorado
|
That's an interesting one. My first thought might be it's Yamaha's Headquarter site, but I think as long as you make it clear you'll be ok.
|
|
|
|
07-25-2007, 12:29 AM
|
Re: Is this illegal?
|
Posts: 880
Name: Jacob
|
lawyer bob loblaw here, If its a trademark and your not a retailer its not legal.
Does anyone get the loblaw reference here?
|
|
|
|
07-25-2007, 12:45 AM
|
Re: Is this illegal?
|
Posts: 38
|
If I put these words on the bottom of every page on my site do you guys think I will be OK?
Yamaha is a registered trademark of Yamaha.
YamahaHQ.com is not associated with, or even acknowledged in any way by Yamaha or any other Yamaha entity.
Last edited by Jason; 07-25-2007 at 12:49 AM..
|
|
|
|
07-25-2007, 01:01 PM
|
Re: Is this illegal?
|
Posts: 111
Name: Rick
Location: Manchester
|
Yup thats what you have to think about trademarks best bet is to email or contact a rep from that company for permission before hand I purchased a site call vbulletindownloads.org and was told to terminate the site straight away or legal action would be taken against me.
However vbulletingames.com is allowed as they have received permission best u can do is ask worst they can say is no lol
Good luck with your site
~Rick~
__________________
Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE best site for ebooks and website php cgi scripts
|
|
|
|
07-25-2007, 04:59 PM
|
Re: Is this illegal?
|
Posts: 38
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by afahosting
best u can do is ask worst they can say is no lol
Good luck with your site
~Rick~
|
I actually emailed Yamaha two times for permission using YamahaHQ.com and both times were left unanswered.
Thanks
|
|
|
|
07-26-2007, 08:52 AM
|
Re: Is this illegal?
|
Posts: 384
Name: Jeni
Location: Wisconsin, USA
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason
I actually emailed Yamaha two times for permission using YamahaHQ.com and both times were left unanswered.
Thanks
|
Maybe it's time for some telephone calls -- I think, from all I've heard, read and seen, you want some definite "go ahead" from Yamaha in this case -- always better to be safe rather than sorry, you know!? 
|
|
|
|
|
« Reply to Is this illegal?
|
|
|
| Thread Tools |
Search this Thread |
|
|
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
|