Tycoon Talk
Become a Big fish!
The number 1 forum for online business!
Post topics, ask questions, share your knowledge.
Tycoon Talk is part of Freelancer.com - find skilled workers online at a fraction of the cost.

Internet Marketing Tycoon


You are currently viewing our Internet Marketing Tycoon as a guest. Please register to participate.
Login



Reply
What do you guys think about this?
Old 03-25-2005, 02:18 AM What do you guys think about this?
Junior Talker

Posts: 2
Trades: 0
Did anyone hear about this free "webring" like form of advertising? I know that many of you probably already know about this and maybe use it on their sites, but I just signed up for it and was wondering if it really works?

If I understand it right the way it works is that in exchange for providing up to 5 text links in any area of your website the link to your site gets automatically inserted into tens of thousands of other sites, providing you with link backs that can be spidered by google, etc. From what I hear, at least in theory this can dramatically increase your ranking with search engines.

According to their site and forums everything seams to be very legit and straight forward. What are the possible drawback of using this technique? It seams to work for many sites and seams like just the thing for new sites that want to improve their ranking. Is there anything wrong with this "service"?

If you want to check it out I'm using it on my site http://www.gphub.com it's in the footer of the page. I'm reluctant to post the link to the "webring" site itself so I won't be accused of spaming the forum, but if you really want it google for it or private message me and I'll send you the link.
__________________

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
pnyc is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
 
Register now for full access!
Old 03-30-2005, 10:57 PM
bluenoser's Avatar
Extreme Talker

Latest Blog Post:
Status of my Information Diet
Posts: 176
Location: Nova Scotia
Trades: 0
Are you talking about the Co-op that DigitalPoint runs?
As far as I can tell it is completely on the up-and-up. If is not the one that Digital Point runs I have no idea how it works
bluenoser is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit bluenoser's homepage!
 
Reply     « Reply to What do you guys think about this?
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





   
RSS Feed  Feeds: RSS   JS   XML
RSS Feed  Feeds for this forum: RSS   JS   XML



Page generated in 0.09325 seconds with 12 queries