Posts: 5,938
Name: Adam for web page design, not program
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
|
"You" may not be doing anything blackhat as such, but there's something shady going on with the whole TV Addicts/DVD Avenue thing on here.
http://whois.domaintools.com/tvaddicts.tv
http://whois.domaintools.com/dvdavenue.tv (identical whois and nameservers)
http://whois.domaintools.com/tvdvdplanet.com (different whois, identical nameservers, nameservers correspond to tvaddicts.tv domain name)
The latter may be a "different" site, but it sells the same stuff and the users listed below link to some combination of the three sites.
Users that promote these sites in their sig:
You (Janna122003)
princess06
luvlyn
jaguar-archie (although to be totally fair, his posts seem marginally helpful at times)
angel_face
There may be more, but this should be enough. You may not be spamming the forum as such, but there's definitely some not-so-nice forum behaviour. What it looks like to me (and I'm not a mod, so I can't prove this) is that it's one poster, or maybe a few posters, with a series of usernames registered so they can link drop the various products.
This is a cheap and stupid pet trick, and if I can catch it without much effort (and I've known about it for quite some time), then a search engine certainly will figure it out without much difficulty.
In other words, stop the silliness if you want to rank and build one good site. When you've done that, promote it without the silly link drop/multiple username garbage.
Oh yeah, and the reciprocal links BS won't work either.
Last edited by ADAM Web Design; 01-04-2007 at 04:37 PM..
|