Tycoon Talk
Become a Big fish!
The number 1 forum for online business!
Post topics, ask questions, share your knowledge.
Tycoon Talk is part of Freelancer.com - find skilled workers online at a fraction of the cost.

SEO Tycoon


You are currently viewing our SEO Tycoon as a guest. Please register to participate.
Login



Freelance Jobs

Reply
What the #@*% is this???
Old 06-22-2007, 01:55 PM What the #@*% is this???
Learning Newbie's Avatar
Defies a Status

Latest Blog Post:
Astounding Republican Paranoia
Posts: 5,662
Name: John Alexander
Trades: 0
Try a Google search for "modern great library" - or just click the link that goes to the SERPs. Look at the #1 result:

Quote:
A Modern Great Library

A Modern Great Library. Dedicated to knowledge for its own sake, with a hunger for new ideas. Welcome to the new Great Library. ...
I disabled the link here because my lawyer won't let me break the guy's legs.

Actually the URL ( unblocksurf dot com ) doesn't seem to go anywhere. But still, that's text lifted verbatim from my site. This brings up a few questions:
  • WTF is going on?
  • Can I sue them for copyright violation? I'm almost sure it's MFA, and I never gave them permission to use my work for any reason, let alone to profit from.
  • If this can happen to such an untraveled site as mine, do you have the same problem?
__________________

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE


Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
Learning Newbie is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
 
Register now for full access!
Old 06-22-2007, 05:06 PM Re: What the #@*% is this???
ADAM Web Design's Avatar
Canadastaninianite

Posts: 5,935
Name: Adam for web page design, not program
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Trades: 0
My guess is they're not using it at all...directly. It looks like it's a web proxy service.

http://www.google.com/search?q=www.u...e7&rlz=1I7GGLF

All that happened is that one of the user sessions got indexed by big G.

If you want to stop any future recurrences, you'd have to figure out which users are the UnblockSurf users and either disallow proxy server browsing on your site (never a bad thing, IMHO...there's almost no good reason for proxy surfing, tinfoil hat theories aside) or have them redirected to a page that doesn't allow the UnblockSurf proxy to be used.

Mind you, I'm not exactly an expert on proxies.

Good question, though.
__________________

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
|
Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
(my blog)


Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
(with proof)
ADAM Web Design is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit ADAM Web Design's homepage!
 
Old 06-22-2007, 05:55 PM Re: What the #@*% is this???
Learning Newbie's Avatar
Defies a Status

Latest Blog Post:
Astounding Republican Paranoia
Posts: 5,662
Name: John Alexander
Trades: 0
Ah, okay, I guess I don't feel quite as bad knowing this was more of a bumbling mistake than someone lining up their cross-hairs on me.

The more experience I get, the more I realize I really should have used WordPress and got my own server. Oh well, live and learn.
__________________

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE


Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
Learning Newbie is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
Old 06-22-2007, 07:57 PM Re: What the #@*% is this???
ADAM Web Design's Avatar
Canadastaninianite

Posts: 5,935
Name: Adam for web page design, not program
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Trades: 0
You still can do that. WordPress is a relatively easy install, and you can copy/paste your posts from Blogspot into WP. You can even customize the timestamp in order to match the dates/times of the old posts with the new ones.
__________________

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
|
Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
(my blog)


Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
(with proof)
ADAM Web Design is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit ADAM Web Design's homepage!
 
Old 06-25-2007, 10:28 AM Re: What the #@*% is this???
willcode4beer's Avatar
Super Moderator

Posts: 1,533
Name: Paul Davis
Location: San Francisco
Trades: 1
Good to see this turned out to not be an issue.

But if it comes up again,

Here is copyscape's guide to responding to plagiarism.
http://copyscape.com/respond.php

They are pretty good at finding when your pages have been plagiarized. Its also pretty good for finding the original source for many of the forum postings that are little more than copy/paste
;-)

For good or bad, in the current state of the world, web hosts are very responsive to DMCA notices (many would say too responsive). I would recommend starting with the polite approach, an move toward a stronger stance only as needed. Its not good to be overly aggressive if someone just made an honest mistake. Besides, you might be able to recruit them to help build content.

Something else to keep in mind. When you publish RSS feeds, you are basically giving anybody permission to publish your content on their site. Just make sure you find the balance that is right for you.
__________________

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE

willcode4beer is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
Reply     « Reply to What the #@*% is this???
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





   
RSS Feed  Feeds: RSS   JS   XML
RSS Feed  Feeds for this forum: RSS   JS   XML



Page generated in 0.21553 seconds with 12 queries