Tycoon Talk
Become a Big fish!
The number 1 forum for online business!
Post topics, ask questions, share your knowledge.
Tycoon Talk is part of Freelancer.com - find skilled workers online at a fraction of the cost.

SEO Tycoon


You are currently viewing our SEO Tycoon as a guest. Please register to participate.
Login



Freelance Jobs

Reply
Is this site being sarcastic or is it real?
Old 08-22-2007, 11:22 AM Is this site being sarcastic or is it real?
Defies a Status

Posts: 3,420
Trades: 0
OK after being bombarded with the continual junk from the relevant link exchange forum and other posts, I type "SEO fraud" into Google. I came up with this obscure site. It's got weird posts like the 2 below:

http://seoblackhat.com/2006/03/23/seo-scam/
http://seoblackhat.com/2005/07/26/ho...y-pr-you-want/

Are these posts for real??? Some parts seem sarcastic but others seem serious - it's one of the strangest sites I've ever found!

(Please note before Adam or someone else starts telling me that blackhat SEO methods are wrong etc. - I know that and I'm not going to use the stuff that this site is saying at all - I just want to know if this is for real!)
CSS4Life is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
 
Register now for full access!
Old 08-22-2007, 11:31 AM Re: Is this site being sarcastic or is it real?
ADAM Web Design's Avatar
Canadastaninianite

Posts: 5,938
Name: Adam for web page design, not program
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Trades: 0
I've always found it to be a bit of both. I think the whole point that SEO Blackhat really tries to make is that there's a lot of BS in the industry, and the site tries to out it.

That one about the SEO scam is something that's been around for years.
__________________

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
|
Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
(my blog)


Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
(with proof)
ADAM Web Design is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit ADAM Web Design's homepage!
 
Old 08-22-2007, 11:58 AM Re: Is this site being sarcastic or is it real?
Super Spam Talker

Latest Blog Post:
Omegle.com
Posts: 800
Trades: 0
Hi there

A very interesting post and somewhat disturbing lol, I am not sure if that seo scam is just a joke either, the only problem is somone might well take that on board and do that scam.

Woc
__________________

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
usearchme is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
Old 08-22-2007, 02:42 PM Re: Is this site being sarcastic or is it real?
ForrestCroce's Avatar
Half Man, Half Amazing

Posts: 3,023
Name: Forrest Croce
Location: Seattle, WA
Trades: 0
Quote:
Step 3. Get the word out that you are an SEO. Make business cards and tell everyone you know. Once you have business cards, you are by definition a “Professional SEO.” I don’t have any business cards so I am NOT a professional SEO. Remember, almost all of your business will have to come from your offline hustling – because no one is going to find you online.
Quote:
If there is anything about [...] building a site that someone might actually want to find, or any legitimate SEO strategies that you don’t understand, just take it out. Don’t worry, odds are the SEO you contacted won’t have mentioned any of these.
Quote:
Hopefully this guide will be used more to help people avoid being ripped off by an SEO Scam, but of course I know better. As PT Barnum said (or didn’t):
There’s a sucker born every minute.
I enjoyed the post. Although I'm not sure that most seos really are scam artists?
__________________

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
|
Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
|
Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
ForrestCroce is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit ForrestCroce's homepage!
 
Old 08-22-2007, 09:51 PM Re: Is this site being sarcastic or is it real?
stOx's Avatar
Machine

Latest Blog Post:
Worlds Smallest Car - Peel P50
Posts: 2,111
Name: Matt. (>',')>
Location: London, England.
Trades: 0
Quote:
Although I'm not sure that most seos really are scam artists?
Sadly i think they are.

Especially after reading some posts on here that go like;
hi, I have a site (superseoservicesforgoogleandstuff.com), How can i rank well in google? Also, What is keyword stuffing?
__________________

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
-
Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
-
Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
stOx is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit stOx's homepage!
 
Old 08-23-2007, 02:20 AM Re: Is this site being sarcastic or is it real?
ADAM Web Design's Avatar
Canadastaninianite

Posts: 5,938
Name: Adam for web page design, not program
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Trades: 0
st0x, hi, dis is seo.expert.4.u . Plz, wat is Google bowling and how can it be used to help SEO? Let's discuss pro and con.
__________________

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
|
Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
(my blog)


Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
(with proof)
ADAM Web Design is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit ADAM Web Design's homepage!
 
Old 08-23-2007, 02:23 AM Re: Is this site being sarcastic or is it real?
vangogh's Avatar
Post Impressionist

Posts: 10,688
Name: Steven Bradley
Location: Boulder, Colorado
Trades: 0
SEO Blackhat is one of my favorite reads. Quadzilla usually has something interesting to say and is also great a linkbaiting. There's a lot to learn from the site even if you don't consider yourself black hat at all. Quadzilla is also a great writer and so the posts are generally entertaining as well.
__________________
l Search Engine Friendly Web Design |
Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE

l Tips On Marketing, SEO, Design, and Development |
Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE

l
Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
|
Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
vangogh is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit vangogh's homepage!
 
Reply     « Reply to Is this site being sarcastic or is it real?
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





   
RSS Feed  Feeds: RSS   JS   XML
RSS Feed  Feeds for this forum: RSS   JS   XML



Page generated in 0.53536 seconds with 12 queries