Tycoon Talk
Become a Big fish!
The number 1 forum for online business!
Post topics, ask questions, share your knowledge.
Tycoon Talk is part of Freelancer.com - find skilled workers online at a fraction of the cost.

Web Hosting Forum


You are currently viewing our Web Hosting Forum as a guest. Please register to participate.
Login



Reply
Old 10-29-2005, 10:33 AM Is this a scam?
Super Talker

Posts: 102
Trades: 0
I've received emails at different email addresses about some of my websites. I'm suspicious about them although I can't see what benefit the sender could get except to instal spyware on my computer or acquire some pretty unimpressive and not very desirable domain names. The links take me to pages that have the same or similar headers to the genuine sites but the rest is not the same as the domain name owner's pages. In particular the ICANN link and line don't appear in any of the sites I think are genuine.

Here's the home page for one of the providers http://www.thehostgroup.com/
and here's the email with the link which takes me to a page that looks similar to but is different and has a very different address. I'm guessing this is a tired old scam like the eBay and bank phishing emails we all get, but it's purpose eludes me.

Am I being scammed and, if so, what is the purpose of the exercise?

*****************************************
Important ICANN Notice Regarding Your Domain Name(s)
*****************************************

Dear [doggy],

It's that time of year again. ICANN (the Internet Corporation for
Assigned Names and Numbers) annually requires that all accredited registrars
ask their domain administrators/registrants to review domain name
contact data, and make any changes necessary to ensure accuracy.

To review/update your contact data, simply:
+ Go to
http://www.securepaynet.net/gdshop/r...w211&isc=ICANN
+ Click on the "ICANN" text link at the top left side of the page
+ You will be taken to a landing page and asked to enter your
Domain Information key: 3ED14F51-B7EF-4D23-B71E-B21E8CF97C5F
+ Enter your key and click "Go."

Next, simply review the contact information for each domain name. To
make a correction, log in to "My Account" with your customer number or
log in name and password. Click "Manage Domains" and then "Manage
Contacts." If you find that your domain contact data is accurate, there's no
need to take action.

If, however, your domain contact information is inaccurate, you must
correct it. (Under ICANN rules and the terms of your registration
agreement, providing false contact information can be grounds for domain name
cancellation.) To review the ICANN policy, visit:
http://www.icann.org/registrars/wdrp.htm

Should you have any questions, please email us at
mailto:sales@thehostgroup.com or call our customer support line at
480-624-2500.

Thanks for your attention and thank you for being a THE HOST GROUP
Domain Name Registrations
customer.

Sincerely,
THE HOST GROUP Domain Name Registrations


If you are the domain administrator of more than one THE HOST GROUP
Domain Name Registrations domain account, you may receive this notice
multiple times.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Copyright 2005 THE HOST GROUP Domain Name Registrations. All rights
reserved.
doggy is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
 
Register now for full access!
Old 10-29-2005, 02:02 PM
ldcdc's Avatar
Hosting watcher

Posts: 1,111
Name: Daniel
Trades: 0
I believe securepaynet is a domain used by godaddy for its partners/resellers.

I do know that Godaddy asked me recently to confirm the whois info of a domain I have with them, so it would appear that it is indeed "that time of the year" for them.

I would send godaddy an email about this. Cheers!
__________________

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE


Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
|
Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
ldcdc is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit ldcdc's homepage!
 
Old 10-29-2005, 02:41 PM
Anacrusis's Avatar
Defies a Status

Posts: 2,099
Name: Adam
Location: Colchester CT
Trades: 0
You do have to verify your whois data periodicly. If your uncertain about the link in the email, go directly to where you registered your domain and do it there. Or like Dan said, email godaddy and ask them to confirm the email for you.
Anacrusis is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
Old 10-29-2005, 03:29 PM
stoot98's Avatar
Ultra Talker

Posts: 427
Name: Stuart
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Trades: 0
I got that email aswell - although I've not changed anything since i registered it so i just disregarded it...
stoot98 is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
Old 10-30-2005, 02:38 AM
Average Talker

Posts: 27
Location: Singapore
Trades: 0
I got it, but I think I left it somewhere and didn't bothered
Dyna is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
Old 10-30-2005, 02:52 AM
HaRRo's Avatar
SEO Expert

Latest Blog Post:
The Large Hadron Collider
Posts: 522
Location: United Kingdom
Trades: 0
ebaylaw.com not a bad one i own ebaynow.net
__________________

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE

What are you waiting for? Easy $$$ anyone can make a fortune!
CLICK CLICK CLICK CLICK CLICK CLICK CLICK CLICK CLICK
HaRRo is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit HaRRo's homepage!
 
Old 10-30-2005, 06:38 AM
Super Talker

Posts: 102
Trades: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by HaRRo
ebaylaw.com not a bad one i own ebaynow.net
ebaylaw.com was going to inform people about the countless holes in eBay's user agreement and various other legal aspects, and run a forum, with a view to undermining its dictatorial oppression of its users. Like most dreams of vengeance I haven't got around to it. Maybe one day.
doggy is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
Reply     « Reply to Is this a scam?
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





   
RSS Feed  Feeds: RSS   JS   XML
RSS Feed  Feeds for this forum: RSS   JS   XML



Page generated in 0.28201 seconds with 12 queries