Tycoon Talk
Become a Big fish!
The number 1 forum for online business!
Post topics, ask questions, share your knowledge.
Tycoon Talk is part of Freelancer.com - find skilled workers online at a fraction of the cost.

Web Hosting Forum


You are currently viewing our Web Hosting Forum as a guest. Please register to participate.
Login



Reply
great deal but...is it a scam?
Old 07-28-2002, 12:43 AM great deal but...is it a scam?
Junior Talker

Posts: 3
Location: Chicago, IL
Trades: 0
http://www.ehostsource.com/

it looks good. i read the faq and the terms of use. everything seems in order...
Chancelor is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
 
Register now for full access!
Old 07-28-2002, 04:02 AM
TimSchroeder's Avatar
Admin/Owner

Posts: 6,141
Location: Orlando, FL
Trades: 0
It is probably a bait and switch. I dont know how they could possibly give that much bandwith that cheap.

They also only bill yearly which is a big negative IMO.

But who knows, maybe they will work for most clients.?.
__________________
Webmaster-Talk Admin -
Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
| My
Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
.


Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE

TimSchroeder is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
Old 07-29-2002, 05:25 AM
Novice Talker

Posts: 5
Trades: 0
It might on the other hand just be a marketing strategy. Most personal or business users hosting only legitimate content - any other will get them kicked out of the service of course - use only a fraction of their bandwidth. But still it sounds impressive:
500 MB Hosting
50 GB Transfer
so many people buy it without needing nearly as much. Of course some will get a very good deal if they really need it.
60host is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
Old 07-29-2002, 02:09 PM
conkermaniac's Avatar
The Nutty Moderator

Posts: 1,012
Location: China
Trades: 0
Hi,

This host seems pretty impressive, with 500 MB space and 50 GB transfer for well under $100 a year. Though I do agree with Chief that the yearly bill does sound a bit suspicious, I also agree with 60host in the fact that they are overselling. Most people will only use up around 25 MB and 2 GB transfer. If they allocate enough space so that on average, each user can have 50 MB and 5 GB transfer, then they can probably make a tiny bit of a profit (their prices aren't super-cheap, so I don't think they don't have to oversell that much).
__________________

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
- Affordable feature-packed remotely hosted message boards!
conkermaniac is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
Old 07-30-2002, 12:49 AM
ghettocars's Avatar
Defies a Status

Posts: 1,738
Name: Josh
Location: Miami, FL
Trades: 0
i might give it a try and inform you all how they are.
__________________

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
ghettocars is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
Old 07-11-2004, 05:48 PM ehostsource is a COMPLETE scam!!!!
Junior Talker

Posts: 1
Trades: 0
I signed up for it June 2003. The price and terms sounded good. I had been using it for nearly a year to host my web store and used the same store pictures for e-Bay auctions. They were completely worthless in helping me transfer my domain, and my site didn't show up for a little over three weeks. E-mail and stats access went down a lot. There is NO support. Even if you call during business hours, it is rare that someone answers. Their e-mail form says they will get back to you in 24 hours, but they never do. So, I was going to find a new host at the end of my year. However, a month earlier, they billed me $80 for another year. (Automatically debited it out my checking account, not a good surprise!!!) I called and asked for a refund because I did not want another year, but they refused. This was before the second year even started... So, I've been stuck and scammed $80. Now, they have changed the TOS (and claim the right to do this whenever they want without notice). Apparently they expect you to read the TOS daily, however I think its criminal that they don't even warn you! Anyway, the new TOS, I have just discovered, does not allow "100's of jpgs." I'm not sure how I can have a store without that many pictures! What am I going to fill 500 megs with, HTML? Also, they do not allow you to use your pictures in auctions anymore. These are the two things I use my web store for! I found out that they'd changed the TOS when my site disappeared. I still have had no contact from them or replies for days, but I believe this may be why my site is gone. I think it is completely scammy. I have used the host for over a year, and had absolutely no idea that they just changed the TOS. Now, one month into my second year, I seem to have been terminated. Nice, they automatically bill me, refuse to refund, change the TOS so that the hosting is completely worthless, then pull my site and keep my $80 without warning.
BEWARE!!!! This is a hosting service just asking for legal action. Searhing the web today, I have found many, many similar complaints. Class action lawsuit, anyone?

Scammed by ehostsource
(and out $80 plus thousands in lost sales!)
mjoann is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
Old 07-13-2004, 05:06 PM
Skilled Talker

Posts: 52
Trades: 0
Wow. That is a shame....sorry. Can we sticky this warning? Or maybe start a list of suspicious hosting co's?
__________________
portfolio o' mine:
Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE

fast, quality hosting:
Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE

Plans start at $3/month for .5gb + 10gb xfer!
Full money-back guarantee! Another exclamation mark!
ethan is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
Reply     « Reply to great deal but...is it a scam?
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





   
RSS Feed  Feeds: RSS   JS   XML
RSS Feed  Feeds for this forum: RSS   JS   XML



Page generated in 0.25143 seconds with 12 queries