Tycoon Talk
Become a Big fish!
The number 1 forum for online business!
Post topics, ask questions, share your knowledge.
Tycoon Talk is part of Freelancer.com - find skilled workers online at a fraction of the cost.

Website and Server Administration Forum


You are currently viewing our Website and Server Administration Forum as a guest. Please register to participate.
Login



Reply
Google Search Result "Warning - visiting this web site may harm your computer!"
Old 12-16-2006, 04:24 PM Google Search Result "Warning - visiting this web site may harm your computer!"
J G R's Avatar
I'm almost certain.

Posts: 81
Name: k jones
Location: out of town
Trades: 0
Hey Guys,
I was searching for a song title the other day using my Google Engine and I clicked on one of the search results and got the message "Warning - visiting this web site may harm your computer!".

I wish they could have been more specific instead of freaking me out like that.

Needless to say, I backed out of the site and found a different one to look at.

Here is an example of what I got to see.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg googlemessage.JPG (92.3 KB, 20 views)
__________________

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
J G R is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit J G R's homepage!
 
 
Register now for full access!
Old 12-16-2006, 08:18 PM
Ken
Novice Talker

Posts: 5
Trades: 2
I know Google will try to identify sites that may install malicious software on your computer and display a warning message.

See here:
http://www.google.com/support/bin/an...y?answer=45449

I see this message every once and awhile, but I don't remember if it looks just like yours. I've only seen it once or twice.
Ken is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
Old 12-17-2006, 01:16 AM
Junior Talker

Posts: 33
Trades: 0
I've seen it. But I also run Noscript. In my experience, they make a good effort but do not get it right.
greenhams is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
Old 12-17-2006, 01:35 AM
BamaStangGuy's Avatar
Defies a Status

Posts: 1,779
Trades: 2
Surprised they haven't gotten sued over that. They have to be flagging legitimate sites.
__________________

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
- Ford Mustang Enthusiast Website

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
- General Music Discussion Forum

BamaStangGuy is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit BamaStangGuy's homepage!
 
Old 12-17-2006, 02:04 AM
Skilled Talker

Posts: 89
Trades: 0
They wouldn't get sued for it as if a legitimate website noticed the warning they could contact google who would remove the 'potential malware' flag from the site manually.

If a non-legit website noticed it - they couldn't sue otherwise would expose themselves to numerous other charges of internet 'piracy' 'fraud' etc and be liable to imprisonment (depending what charges are thrown at them).
__________________

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
|
Ganceann is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit Ganceann's homepage!
 
Old 12-17-2006, 02:45 AM
jakerz's Avatar
Junior Talker

Posts: 152
Trades: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ganceann View Post
They wouldn't get sued for it as if a legitimate website noticed the warning they could contact google who would remove the 'potential malware' flag from the site manually.

If a non-legit website noticed it - they couldn't sue otherwise would expose themselves to numerous other charges of internet 'piracy' 'fraud' etc and be liable to imprisonment (depending what charges are thrown at them).
Well said :1eye:
__________________

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
jakerz is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit jakerz's homepage!
 
Old 01-08-2007, 02:22 PM
Experienced Talker

Posts: 30
Trades: 0
One of my forums have actually been blacklisted by Google in this manner. It was running Invision Board 1.3. and the hacker went into an admin account and inserted a malicious code in the board wrapper. I removed the malicious code and appealed succesfully against the blacklisting.

However, I am in a quandary of what to do with the site. To remove the problem, I really need to upgrade the software to IPB 2.2 but that would require the addons to be reinstalled as well. I just do not have the technical skills at the moment.

Derek
zadaw is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
Old 01-11-2007, 10:26 AM
Nick204k's Avatar
Novice Talker

Posts: 8
Trades: 0
Yeah google can't get sued for this... It's there search engine it's there property they can do what ever they want!... Enough said its GOOGLE!
__________________

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
|
Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
Nick204k is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
Old 01-18-2007, 05:07 AM
Elemak's Avatar
$1,000 - $4,999 Monthly

Posts: 164
Trades: 0
Respectfully I must disagree with all of you... Google could most definitely get sued for this if they are having false positives... for two reasons

(1) you can get sued for ANYTHING. now whether you win or lose the case is another matter, but you can bring legal action against anyone for anything at all.

and (2), if they are getting false positives, you could consider it libel... it is defaming the reputation of the website being so tagged, and if what is being warned against (malware I guess) does not exist on the website then it is false defamation which makes it libel

Of course, I am not a lawyer, so there is a good chance I could be wrong... but that is my opinion on this matter

I think it is unlikely that anyone WOULD sue, though, because as someone mentioned you could just contact google and have them remove the warning if it wasn't correct... it's a pain to sue somebody and usually costs more than it is worth, so I don't think anyone would actually sue unless google REFUSED to remove the warning.

But they most definitely COULD be sued
__________________

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
|
Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
|
Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
Elemak is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit Elemak's homepage!
 
Old 01-18-2007, 05:49 PM
handsome rob's Avatar
King Spam Talker

Posts: 1,028
Trades: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elemak View Post
(2), if they are getting false positives, you could consider it libel... it is defaming the reputation of the website being so tagged, and if what is being warned against (malware I guess) does not exist on the website then it is false defamation which makes it libel
They'd have to prove damages, and the only damages would be loss of traffic. Traffic that they wouldn't have at all were it not for Google. I'm not a lawyer either but after my $xx payment from the class action clickfraud suit against Google, I'll bet my spurs that nothing comes of this.
handsome rob is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit handsome rob's homepage!
 
Old 01-19-2007, 05:35 PM
Elemak's Avatar
$1,000 - $4,999 Monthly

Posts: 164
Trades: 0
I agree that most likely nothing will come of it. I am just saying that such a warning is libelous, as it can defame the reputation of your website and interfere with your ability to do business. You're right in that proving damages would be difficult. However, it would not simply be a loss of traffic. All it takes is one google searcher to tell their friends not to use your website because they saw a warning about it having malware, and now it is not just google's traffic you are losing, there is now word-of-mouth going around about your website containing malware.
__________________

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
|
Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
|
Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
Elemak is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit Elemak's homepage!
 
Reply     « Reply to Google Search Result "Warning - visiting this web site may harm your computer!"
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





   
RSS Feed  Feeds: RSS   JS   XML
RSS Feed  Feeds for this forum: RSS   JS   XML



Page generated in 0.49967 seconds with 13 queries