Tycoon Talk
Become a Big fish!
The number 1 forum for online business!
Post topics, ask questions, share your knowledge.
Tycoon Talk is part of Freelancer.com - find skilled workers online at a fraction of the cost.

Website Design Forum


You are currently viewing our Website Design Forum as a guest. Please register to participate.
Login



Freelance Jobs

Reply
Odd linking to web site
Old 03-14-2005, 08:13 AM Odd linking to web site
Junior Talker

Posts: 4
Trades: 0
I'm not sure which forum to post this in, so I thought I'd start here.

I noticed this odd referrer URL (ebay.com)on my website statistics the other day and when I looked back in the statistics a few months ago, I found out it has been going on for a few months. I was curious as to why ebay.com was linking to my site.

I thought that someone was hotlinking to the an image on the site but got this back from the company.

I have contacted the host company for the site, and received this reply

Quote:
We don't believe there is any hotlinking going on, it's just a bit curious as to what exactly is going on. basically, someone is requesting the file "http://www.ebay.com"; when connecting to your account. your default page is being returned to them.

so essentially, it's no different than someone requesting "file.html" on your account (ie, browsing that page) but as to why they're doing it i'm not sure, i haven't heard of any sort of scam or similar which uses this technique, so it does seem quite harmless,
Has anyone heard of this? Any idea why this is happening? I'm not sure it is "harmless" and have concerns someone is bouncing an illegal spam or scam off my site.

Can anyone help?

Thanks
squirrell1 is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
 
Register now for full access!
Old 03-14-2005, 08:24 AM
Minaki's Avatar
Defies a Status

Posts: 1,626
Location: Guildford, UK
Trades: 0
Firstly it sounds like your hosting company don't know what they're talking about. If it is in fact a referer, then nobody will be requesting that URL as a file from your site...

Can you go into your web logs directly and search for ebay.com ? You can then find the full referer URL and find out where in eBay is linking to you, and which file it's linking to (assuming of course that it isn't a spoofed referer)
__________________
Minaki Serinde MCP
"Wow, Linux is nearly on-par with Windows ME!"

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
|
Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
Minaki is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit Minaki's homepage!
 
Old 03-14-2005, 08:38 AM
Junior Talker

Posts: 4
Trades: 0
No, I can't access any other information other than the URL referer of http://www.ebay.com. I am getting anywhere from 8 to 12 hits a month from that referrer. Now I know ebay.com isn't linking to my site (it is actually a church site) so that's why I'm concerned it is being used for something illegal--especially since it is a church site. I was wondering if maybe someone isn't using it to send out those "fishing" emails that appear to be from ebay.com but aren't?

It has me completely baffled.
squirrell1 is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
Old 03-14-2005, 12:40 PM
Junior Talker

Posts: 4
Trades: 0
I just heard from my domain host again. Here's what they said:

Quote:
a few of the IP's belonged toa chinese company (in china). Thats not much help though. As to why they are doing this there are a number of possibilities. It could be connected to hacking attempts against ebay or it could actually be a harmless mistake. As you say in this case there is almost no way to know.

One thing though is that this type of thing is relatively common and probably happens to just about ever domain out there. In your case the number of entries like this is actually relatively few and does not seem to indicate a threat of any kind to your site.

I still have concerns though. Is there a reason to be concerned? Is this as common as they state?


Thanks again,
squirrell1 is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
Old 03-14-2005, 02:47 PM
Minaki's Avatar
Defies a Status

Posts: 1,626
Location: Guildford, UK
Trades: 0
I doubt there is. It sounds very much like chinese hackers to me.
For now it looks like they're not trying to target your site (Would they have a reason to?) If they wanted in they probably would be by now, or given up.
I can't explain why it's happening still. It would help to see the raw logfiles, and to know what files on your server are being requested.
__________________
Minaki Serinde MCP
"Wow, Linux is nearly on-par with Windows ME!"

Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
|
Please login or register to view this content. Registration is FREE
Minaki is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile Visit Minaki's homepage!
 
Old 03-14-2005, 03:13 PM
Junior Talker

Posts: 4
Trades: 0
Ok, thanks. I'll keep an eye on the stats and make sure that it doesn't increase or get worse in some way.

No, there's no reason for them to hack the site. There's no personal information on there--nothing that isn't available to the public by accessing the site "the normal way."

Thanks again.
squirrell1 is offline
Reply With Quote
View Public Profile
 
Reply     « Reply to Odd linking to web site
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





   
RSS Feed  Feeds: RSS   JS   XML
RSS Feed  Feeds for this forum: RSS   JS   XML



Page generated in 0.23032 seconds with 12 queries